Welcome to the Department of Physics at Colorado State University! Physics, the most fundamental of sciences, is the study of motion, matter and energy at scales ranging from the cosmological to subatomic. At CSU, you will receive a practical, hands-on, and individualized education at a leading research institution.

Department Highlights

Prof. Josh Berger Paper Accepted to PRL

The universe contains more matter than antimatter, but the mechanism for generating this difference is currently unconfirmed. Could dark matter be involved? Prof. Berger with his collaborator Gilly Elor explores how dark

CSU students attended the SPS Physics Congress

The Little Shop of Physics was invited to do a hands-on science workshop with hundreds of Physics faculty members and undergraduates from around the country at the Society of Physics Students Physics

Celebration of Faculty and Staff Milestones

Every year, Colorado State University celebrates employees achieving a decade of service of more. Congratulations to all who have reached a Milestone year of service this academic year, and thank you for

Spotlight on Colorado State University QuarkNet Center

CSU was featured in the Quarknet Friday flyer! Below is an excerpt from the event: The CSU crew was able to meet once again in-person for their 2021 workshop after meeting virtually


Faculty suggests new approach in search for dark matter through future DUNE research project

A researcher at Colorado State University has developed a potential approach for identifying and understanding dark matter using the soon to be built gigantic particle detectors at the international Deep Underground Neutrino Experiment

Little Shop of Physics’ annual science Open House set for Feb. 24 at CSU

The Little Shop of Physics will host their annual Open House event from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Feb. 24 on the third floor of Colorado State University’s Lory Student Center. As always, the event is free and open to the public with over 300 hands-on homemade science experiments available to explore for all ages.

From spintronics to multipoletronics: How CSU research could allow for big developments in data processing

A CSU professor’s research into using an electron’s spin to carry data could help future researchers develop some big advancements when it comes to data processing speed.

CSU physicists make a precise measurement that bolsters longstanding quantum theory

Using lasers, supercooled hydrogen and radio frequency electromagnetic waves, the researchers characterized the magnetic interaction between the proton and electron in a hydrogen atom.



07:30 PM
Never No Summer Ballroom, Lory Student Center
04:00 PM
120 Engineering (Hammond Auditorium)


Screencap of Newsletter

Find Us

Physical Address

124 Engineering Building
400 Isotope Drive

Mailing Address

Physics Department
1875 Campus Delivery
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO 80523-601


(970) 491-6206