APS 4C student presentation award recipients. Back row from left to right: Praveen Janatha, Martin Asmat-Uceda, Matt Williams, Andrea Shacklock, Forrest Craft; center: Matt Hogan. (not shown: Matt Bass).

Several members of the department attended the American Physical Society (APS) Four-Corners Section Meeting October 18th and 19th at the University of Denver. The meeting brings physicists together from across the four corner region and provides and excellent venue for young scientists to present their work. In addition to student and postdoc contributed talks, invited talks are given by senior physicists. At this year’s meeting 5 CSU faculty (Profs. Walter Toki, Jake Roberts, Mingzhong Wu, Bob Wilson, and John Harton) gave invited talks while 36 other presentations (oral and poster) were given by students and postdocs from the department.

At each meeting awards are given to students making excellent oral and poster presentations. This year there were 7 students from the department receiving awards:

Grad Student Poster Presentation

  • Praveen Janatha

Undergraduate Student Presentation

  • Forrest Craft
  • Andrea Shacklock

Graduate Student Presentation

  • Martin Asmat-Uceda
  • Matt Bass
  • Matt Hogan
  • Matt Williams

Congratulations to all of the very deserving winners!


This year’s APS 4C meeting was especially exciting in that there were 3 Nobel Laureates in attendance (Eric Cornell, John Mather, and David Wineland). The three laureates each gave an individual presentation and took part in a joint panel discussion.


Nobel Laureate Panel. Left to Right: Eric Cornell, John Mathers, David Wineland.


(Photos by Bill Fairbank)

All Announcements