The Department of Physics maintains a tradition of excellence in research and in teaching at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. Department Postdoctoral Scholars participate in research on three continents with programs in many of the most active and exciting areas of physics. This positions involves expertise in both the High Energy Physics and Particle Astrophysics (HEPPA) area and the Atomic, Molecular and Optical (AMO) Physics areas. Members of the CSU High Energy Physics and Particle Astrophysics research group work on several forefront experiments to explore the fundamental properties of neutrinos: the Deep Underground Neutrino Experiment (DUNE), T2K, NOvA, Fermilab Short-Baseline Neutrino (SBN) program, EXO-200 and nEXO. DUNE, T2K, SBN and NOvA study neutrino flavor oscillations, neutrino interactions and evidence for sterile neutrinos, while EXO searches for neutrinoless double beta decay. Particle astrophysics experiments include dark matter searches (DRIFT) and study of ultra-high energy cosmic rays (Auger). Members of the AMO group study single atom detection and manipulation, ultracold plasmas, the spectroscopy of anti-hydrogen (the A-TRAP experiment), quantum computing, Rydberg state spectroscopy and LIDAR for atmospheric studies.

All Announcements